Name That Food 102

May 26, 2011

in Name That Food

By Riki Shore

The other day we were at a friend-of-a-friend’s house where my daughter was offered the following snack. Can you guess what this might be? Do you know what sodium hexametaphosphate or caramel color is? Can you say for sure if this is gluten-free? Check below for answers to these questions and to see what this snack really is.

Rice
Sugar
Modified Cornstarch
Corn Syrup
Dextrose
Gelatin
Yellow 5
Red 40
Blue 1
Yellow 6
Sodium Hexametaphosphate
Natural and Artificial Flavor
Hydrogenated Vegetable Oil
Salt
Turmeric Oleoresin
Caramel Color
BHT

Sodium hexametaphosphate is used to make soap, detergents, photographic products, and textiles; it’s used to treat¬†water, finish metal, manufacture¬†pulp and paper, and synthesize polymers. As a food additive it acts as a preservative, extending shelf life to numerous packaged foods.

Caramel color is one of the oldest and most widely-used food coloring agents. It gives Coke it’s distinctive golden brown hue and often appears in mass-produced breads and rolls. It’s derived from a variety of sources, including lactose, corn, barley and wheat. If you’re gluten-intolerant, you should avoid foods containing caramel color unless you can determine its source.

This snack, which contains more chemical than food ingredients, is Post Marshmallow Pebbles.

Marshmallow Pebbles

Comments on this entry are closed.

Previous post:

Next post: